Yes, myasthenia gravis can qualify as a disability. The Social Security Administration (SSA) includes myasthenia gravis in its list of impairments under Section 11.12. To be eligible for disability benefits, individuals with myasthenia gravis must meet the criteria outlined in the SSA’s Blue Book

It includes providing medical evidence that demonstrates the severity of the condition and its impact on daily functioning and the ability to work. Meeting the criteria for disability benefits may involve undergoing specific tests and evaluations to assess the extent of impairment caused by myasthenia gravis.

Can You Get Disability For Myasthenia Gravis?

Yes, it is possible to qualify for disability benefits due to myasthenia gravis. The Social Security Administration (SSA) considers myasthenia gravis to be a disabling condition, and individuals with this condition may be eligible for Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI).

To qualify, individuals must provide medical evidence that demonstrates the severity of their myasthenia gravis and its impact on their ability to work. This evidence may include medical records, test results, and statements from healthcare professionals detailing the limitations and symptoms caused by the condition.

Is Myasthenia Gravis A Disability?

Myasthenia gravis can be considered a disability, especially if it significantly impairs an individual’s ability to engage in substantial gainful activity (SGA) and meets the duration requirement of lasting or being expected to last for at least 12 months. 

Substantial gainful activity refers to the ability to perform work that earns a certain income. If myasthenia gravis prevents an individual from meeting this criterion, they may be eligible for disability benefits. Myasthenia Gravis can also lead to lung cancer, anxiety, and depression.

Furthermore, to qualify for Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI), the impairment must be expected to last for at least 12 consecutive months. The 12-month duration requirement ensures that the disability is of a chronic or long-term nature, making the individual eligible for ongoing support.

What Is Myasthenia Gravis?

Myasthenia gravis is a chronic autoimmune neuromuscular disorder characterized by muscle weakness and fatigue. In this condition, the immune system mistakenly attacks the receptors for acetylcholine, a neurotransmitter responsible for muscle contractions, leading to communication issues between nerves and muscles.

Symptoms Of Myasthenia Gravis

Symptoms of myasthenia gravis can vary but often include muscle weakness, especially in the face, neck, and extremities. Common symptoms involve 

  • Difficulties with facial expressions
  • Chewing
  • Swallowing
  • Speaking
  • Muscle weakness tends to worsen with activity and improve with rest

Types Of Myasthenia Gravis

There are different types of myasthenia gravis, including:

  • Generalized Myasthenia Gravis: This is the most common form, affecting multiple muscle groups, including those responsible for eye movement, facial expression, and limb movement.
  • Ocular Myasthenia Gravis: In this type, muscle weakness is primarily confined to the muscles that control eye movement and eyelid function.
  • Congenital Myasthenic Syndromes: These are inherited forms of the disorder, often appearing in infancy or childhood.
  • Transient Neonatal Myasthenia Gravis: A temporary form that can occur in infants born to mothers with myasthenia gravis due to the transfer of antibodies.

The specific symptoms and types of myasthenia gravis can vary among individuals, and the condition requires careful management and treatment to alleviate symptoms and improve quality of life.

What If My Myasthenia Gravis Disability Benefits Get Denied?

If your myasthenia gravis disability benefits application is denied, you can appeal the decision. The appeal process typically involves several stages, and it’s crucial to understand and follow the necessary steps. 

  • Reconsideration: The first step is to request a reconsideration of your case. During this stage, a different examiner will review your application and any new evidence you provide. 
  • Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) Hearing: If your claim is still denied after reconsideration, you can request a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). The ALJ will assess your case independently and ask questions about your condition and limitations. 
  • Appeals Council: If the ALJ denies your claim, you can further appeal to the Social Security Appeals Council. This council will review your case and may either decide your case itself or return it to the ALJ for further review. 
  • Federal Court: If all previous stages are unsuccessful, you can file a lawsuit in federal court. This is the final stage of the appeals process, and it involves a review by a federal judge.

How Can A Social Security Disability Attorney Help You?

A Social Security Disability Lawyer can be a valuable ally in your disability claim. They bring expertise in navigating the complex application process, ensuring all necessary documentation is in order.

Moreover, understanding the specific criteria for approval increases the likelihood of a successful claim. Attorneys provide representation in case of denials, guiding you through appeals and hearings to secure the benefits you deserve.

FAQs On Myasthenia Gravis Disability

Living a normal life with myasthenia gravis is possible with proper management and treatment. Medications, lifestyle adjustments, and sometimes surgery can help control symptoms, allowing individuals to lead fulfilling lives. Regular medical monitoring and adherence to treatment plans are crucial for maintaining a good quality of life.
Myasthenia gravis primarily affects muscles and the neuromuscular junction, but it does not directly impact the brain. It is an autoimmune disorder where the immune system mistakenly attacks acetylcholine receptors, leading to muscle weakness and fatigue. Cognitive functions typically remain unaffected.
The disability scale for myasthenia gravis is not uniform, as disability can vary widely among individuals from 0 to 84. Severity is often assessed based on the impact of muscle weakness on daily activities and functional abilities. The scale may range from mild, where symptoms are limited, to too severe, involving significant limitations in mobility and self-care.
Myasthenia gravis can be diagnosed at any age, but it often occurs in women under 40 and men over 60. The average age of diagnosis is around 30 for women and 60 for men. Early diagnosis and prompt treatment are crucial for managing symptoms effectively.
The latest treatments for myasthenia gravis include medications that improve neuromuscular transmission, such as acetylcholinesterase inhibitors and immunosuppressants. Intravenous immunoglobulin (IVIG) and plasmapheresis are also used for acute symptom relief. Always consult with healthcare professionals for the most up-to-date and personalized treatment options.